The Ramon Magsaysay 2019 Awardees

September 23, 2019

On September 9, we attended on behalf of Gawad Metronian Educational Foundation, Inc. the 2019 Presentation Ceremonies of the Ramon Magsaysay Award held at Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo, Cultural Center of the Philippines. The awardees are as follows: KIM JONG-KI of South Korea, KO SWE WIN of Myanmar, RAVISH KUMAR of India, ANGKHANA NEELAPAIJIT of Thailand, RAYMUNDO “Ryan” PUJANTE CAYABYAB of the Philippines. Except for Mr. Cayabyab, we managed to get the signatures of all awardees making my souvenir magazine extra special. Unfortunately, he was on his way out by the time we got near him. It was my knack for documentation that prodded me to queue up for their precious signatures…


Their individual stories and contributions to their society in particular, and the humanity in general are truly inspiring. The late Gina Lopez could have been one of the awardees too in recognition of what she had done for the environment, the children and the marginalized people in our country.

Here are links to read about the awardees and the award giving body itself: https://philippinesgraphic.net/2019-ramon-magsaysay-awardees-announced/; https://www.rmaward.asia/

RMagsaysay Awardees_wide

The 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees with Vice-President of the Philippines Leni Robrero and RMAF Board of Trustees Chair Jose L. Cuisia, Jr. (4th and 3rd from right respectively)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: