h1

Alay ng Sektor sa Kaarawan ni Apolinario Mabini

August 6, 2015

It was on July 23, 2015 when the 151st birth anniversary of Apolinario Mabini started. He is the subject of my two educational documentaries [The Sublime Paralytic / Pule: Utak ng Rebolusyon]. Primarily aimed at giving Deaf access to information, they are at the same time intended to help promote the use and recognition of Filipino Sign Language in the country and showcasing Deaf talents.

SM Aura_tiketOn that day, the Philippine Foundation on the Rehabilitation of the Disabled, SM Cares, PAGCOR and AKAP-PINOY sponsored a musical event they called “Isang Gabi ng Musika: Alay ng Sektor sa Kaarawan ni Apolinario Mabini.”

SM Aura_Excerpts

Scene from the Documentary: Interview with Dr. Paul Dumol, historian; Filipino Sign Language Interpreter Febe Sevilla.

I didn’t know exactly what was going to happen. But I had an arrangement with Jan Peña, President of Autism Society Philippines-Dasmariñas City chapter that I would ready excerpts from the documentary that I am working on – in fact until now – since the program is a tribute to Mabini. I was busy working at that time with the docu’s sound designer. Jan was quite keen in her invitation for me to attend the event. Anyway, since I wanted to see how the excerpts would fare when shown to the public, I went to SM Aura [my first time], but stayed for only an hour or so. Our sound designer was waiting for me at home. Met a few friends, watched my work with the audience who were receptive the way I observed them, enjoyed the first group who sang songs during the 60’s, and  yes! heard my name read before the program as one of the Mabini awardees. I earlier thought the names of the nominees would be announced.

Leave a Reply

