h1

Tycoon Henry Sy’s “Shoemart Exclusive” circa 60’s? At Si Pitz!!!

April 15, 2015

I had a serendipitous encounter with a pair of shoes tagged “Shoemart Exclusive.” Have you ever seen one? Well, I found it in our cabinet. Though quite off my blog theme, I wanted to write about it anyway. I like “artifacts” or “historical pieces” if you may call them. And I already consider my find as ‘cultural pieces,’ since they can surely be used as props in period film making for example. Haha!

SME6

Looking at them, I wondered and asked myself: Had the richest man in the Philippines, tycoon Henry Sy, SM founder, worn this type as well? Maybe he did! Afterall, he started the first Shoemart store. And he could have possibly sported one for a demo of what he was selling at the time. What do you think?

SME2

Pitz and Henry Sy’s Shoemart Exclusive

The pair of SM shoes must have been made circa 60s, maybe in the 70s. I don’t really know! But Mr. Henry Sy should know. The shoe pair was kept well by one of my four elder brothers so it still looks good. Pwede ring nagkalyo sya noon kaya hindi na ginamit… itinambak na lang. Hahaha!

Anyway, I surfed looking for similar shoe type to compare it with so as to approximate the date based on the design but I have not found any! so, for SM shoe buffs… here’s for you! An SM historical artifact by now!!

Presenting: Shoemart Exclusive with our loveable PITZ, a half askal-Jap Spitz who is celebrating his 3rd birthday today!!!

SME3

Happy 3rd Birthday Pitz!!!

pitz_1st-day

Pitz – three years ago. His first day with us…direct from Cartimar Pet shop. Look at his prominently large ears!!

SME

Pitz: “Makatulog nga uli! Naistorbo ako!” [Notice that I positioned the shoe pair to echo the position of Pitz. The black and white division is quite clear; the graphic elements of pattern and repetition are used]

Leave a Reply

