h1

Weekly Photo Challenge: Achievement_Making Docus

November 19, 2014

For me, it is an achievement to hop around towns in our country to spread Autism and Deaf Awareness through my documentary films — “Alyana” [2006] and “Silent Odyssey” [2008] . From the time I made them some 8 years ago up to now, they continue to be shown in different provinces. The impact has not waned, only the statistics. The power of film cannot be contested…

More than anything, finishing them quite gave me great sense of triumph. All of them took many months to finish: Alyana took me two-and-a-half years; Silent Odyssey and “Tiga-Isla” both took me one-a-half years. The reason??? I started with only some great desire to do them, borrowed cameras especially when I made Alyana and Tiga-Isla, and help from friends. I have no full budget at hand every time I start working on my personal docus, only the belief that I would finish them, come what may — with God behind me in whatever I do, passion and determination to achieve my goals.

DASMA Zone 1A_4

Reaching out to the masses to raise autism awareness; my docu on autism was shown in a covered court at Barangay Zone 1A in Dasmariñas, Cavite last October 24, 2014. On the screen is Alyana.

PSD Before Screening

Parents of Deaf children studying at the Philippine School of the Deaf watched “Silent Odyssey”, a docu touching on Audism/Discrimination, history and Deaf Filipino culture. It advocates for Filipino Sign Language use. Showing was held last September 25, 2014

Tiga Isla Screening

Even “Tiga-Isla,” my historical film docu on prewar Corregidor, the last island that surrendered to the Japanese during World War II still had impact on the viewers though made 11 years ago in 2003. It was shown last week on November 15, 2014. The docu ends with an anti-war sentiment.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/achievement/

 

 

Leave a Reply

