h1

Farewell to a Corregidorian

May 18, 2014

My eldest brother, Virgilio R. Medina, Sr., retired Manila policeman died day before yesterday on the same day my youngest brother, Senen was operated on because of very low blood pressure caused by blood clots and water around his heart. He has been confined since May 8 at the ICU of the Heart Center in Quezon City. We transferred him from a Laguna hospital because of lack of facilities. Another family member has undergone a heart bypass operation on the same day.

My eldest brother was one of my three siblings featured in TIGA-ISLA, my first historical documentary on prewar Corregidor. He was one of my primary sources of information along with my eldest sister, Dr. Ligaya M. Miranda, second president of Metro Manila College in Novaliches, Q.C., and Dr. Isagani R. Medina, professor emeritus of the UP Department of History. The latter was a colleague of Prof. Teodoro Agoncillo, Dr. Bernardita Churchill and Dr. Samuel Tan. All three of them were born in Corregidor.

By now, I do not know how many Corregidorians are still around.

Leave a Reply

