h1

Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved / On Miracle Fruit

January 6, 2013

We have a plant called the Miracle Fruit. I took it for granted for about five years now or from the time I bought it that it grew from waist-length to about 6 feet high. I don’t remember seeing it bear more than five or six red colored miracle fruits in a year. So, a bunch which other plants yield the way I know it is also a dream. Our helper who used to look after it has left some 10 months ago so I took over watering the plant — but with the same attitude. I was busy with my work. Two months ago, I was grounded because of poor health. With more time at home and the plant, I wondered about the rarity of its fruits. I thought of having the plant transferred to a place where it could get more sunlight and have taken the resolve to give it more time, treat it with more care and to daily and diligently water it.

Miracle fruit -flower_ECUHundreds, maybe thousand buds and flowers grew — much more than before. That alone is rewarding but it is still taking time to bear fruit. Most of them are falling so much so that I started talking and asking the plant to turn into a fruit, please!!!

ImageYesterday, I was quite delighted to finally and unexpectedly saw a fruit – green in color. Only ONE though! Now, I am more determined and have taken another resolve to take even more care, give the plant more time and fertilizers as well, talk to the plant more — with the hope of beating its usual and maximum quota of six fruits annually. Who knows? By treating it equally as Pitz and Oliver, it would bear at least a dozen!!! Promise! I’ll make a tally and I’ll guard this first “survivor” to see if it would succeed in reaching its final stage – red, ripe and ready to taste.

What its quota going to be this 2013? Let’s wait and see! Oh by the way, it’s called a miracle fruit because it can turn into sweet taste the most sour of fruits like the Calamansi

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/weekly-photo-challenge-resolved/

8 comments

  1. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved / On Miracle Fruit « Advocacine’s Blog […]


  2. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved / On Miracle Fruit « Advocacine’s Blog […]


  3. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved / On Miracle Fruit « Advocacine’s Blog […]


  4. Such a neat plant, I saw one for sale last weekend at the local farmer’s market…it had half a dozen red fruit on it already!


  5. Something like that is what I am hoping for – and hopefully – in a bunch!!!


  6. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved « Advocacine’s Blog […]


  7. […] = the miracle fruit plant I RESOLVED to guard, look after and closely watch. Would you believe that there are now about six green fruits […]


  8. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved / On Miracle Fruit « Advocacine’s Blog […]



Leave a Reply

