h1

Camia Flower Child Vendors

September 23, 2012

Animals, children, flowers, trees and the like always catch my attention. So, I have the habit of carrying a small point and shoot cam to take photos of anyone or anything my eyes would behold no matter how insignificant they may appear to others. It happens anywhere as I can always find beauty even on ordinary things.

When I went to UP Diliman last Tuesday, on the way to Aguinaldo St. where Manay Belen Calingacion lives, two children caught my attention. They were readying the camia flowers [White Ginger / Hedychium philippinense or hedychium coronarium) that they have collected for selling purposes. Child entrepreneurs you may say. Nakakatuwa! I was in fact with Belen when I took the following photos:

Look at the string of red flowers [santan?] on the child’s head! Beautiful!

I bought their “product” costing P5 and P10 respectively…

To read more about the flower, click camia-aka-hedychium-philippinense-or.html

Leave a Reply

