h1

Meeting Gov Jeorge Estregan

September 11, 2011

Yesterday was my second face-to-face meet with Laguna Gov. Jeorge Estregan. I met him for the first time a couple of months ago in his house in Pagsanjan when Tikoy [Aguiluz] introduced me to him as editor of the film they have then started to shoot, the Asiong Salonga remake. We never met even during the viewings of the film’s first cuts —and there were already several of them held.

It was past 10 p.m. when he came in. However, I was so engrossed editing the new materials [34th day] that I didn’t know he was already in the room. Bench, the one assisting us later said that he was motioned by Gov not to tell me he was there. I did not know he was coming. Tikoy and Yuka did not know he was coming. And since I am used to people coming in and out of the room, I never really bother to check whoever comes. When he came, I was working on the segment on Ely Buendia singing La Paloma as Asiong, being played by Gov. and his wife Fidela, being played by Karla Avellana dance. Buendia sings the song beautifully, his style cool and it wasn’t boring to watch and hear him sing…I was enjoying working on it. Only when Gov sat down on the chair right beside me that I noticed him. I was surprised… We viewed and edited the film until Tikoy joined us at past midnight. We started to shorten the film based on the list of Gov. himself, Tikoy’s and mine. It was a concerted effort. There were discussions why a certain sequence can, or should be totally edited out. Others were trimmed down. Despite that the film remains long. I have a new list of sequences that I believe can be edited out, and/or trimmed down further. But since a day more is left to shoot the remnants, shortening the film continues…

By past two a.m. Sept. 11 na yun, I was amused to see both Gov and Tikoy falling off to sleep. I wished I had a camera. Ha!Ha! Nevertheless, it was also inspiring to see hard-working men waiting for their “baby” to be born — an essential part in the process of creation. Thinking of it now, we, film editors are like  comadronas. We help in giving birth…and in doing surgical operations when we try to solve problems in continuity. The formless takes shapes. The film forms with our help. What a thought! A wonderful thought though! It shows how important the role of a film editor is. Everything sweated for during the production, and by everyone in the production will be given life in the editing room. However, the film — a film, as I have always said and believe, is a product of everyone’s contributions–from the producers to the littlest workers in the field. All are as important as the others in the filmmaking process. But the director, of course remains as the conductor of the ‘concert’ed efforts. He conducts and gives the final touches to the littlest requirements and elements of the film. He fathers or mothers the “creation” as it will carry his/her name forever. Good or bad the creation is, the baby will be his or hers, the director’s name attached to it, not anyone else in the film.

One comment

  1. […] Anak ni Tikoy ang Asiong Salonga 2011 Director’s Cut Version. At katulong ako sa pagpapaanak nyan na nagsimula hindi lang nang iedit ang pelikulang ito kundi mula pa scriptwriting stage na iniwang hindi tapos kay Tikoy pero bayad na raw? Kaya nga may Rey Ventura e!! [Read related post I wrote months ago: Re Film Director as Conductor] […]



Leave a Reply

