h1

Rizal’s A Filipinas_Deaf Interpretation

September 10, 2011

While waiting for the go-signal if I could edit last night as per my Asiong Salongs studio sked, I went to CSB to meet Project Rizal team members Raphy Dominingo [Deaf, FSL Consultant], Myra Medrana {Deaf choreographer handling Silent Steps] and Febe Sevilla, our interpreter. Febe listened to Vim’s explanation of the poem which was recorded for the purpose of relaying the message to the Deaf interpreter. The poem is short so we didn’t take long at it.Unfortunately, the person Raphy and Myra chosen declined to join so they are now searching for a replacement. Have set my mind in shooting it at the Bantayog ni Rizal located opposite Calamba City Hall.

The group finalized the shooting sked and venue: Alay ni Maria Clara and Sa Filipinas in Calamba, Laguna on September 23; the Spanish version at CSB Theater on September 30. I was reviewing the footages shot in UP. Problems manifested while shooting Vim Nadera’s reading of My Last Farewell — the chirping birds, and the recording itself due to “dying” battery. Sa bandang huli pa naman. There were popcorn sounds…

Good thing was I forgot my celfone and went home just to check messages re my Asiong edit sked. I was suppose to go direct to the studion after the meet. Sure enough, Yuka informed me that Raymund, our studio assistant, would not be able to come.

Leave a Reply

