h1

Rikutitos ng Fine Cutting

August 19, 2011

Fine cutting is the last stage in picture editing. And for this work, we really have to give serious attention to a frame less, or a frame more to the juxtaposed shots. There are hundreds of footages reviewed and studied, and sometimes it does happen na may nakakalusot so to say. That is why, it is a must that a preview on big screen is needed to see the small details within the frame which our eyes may not have seen on a small computer screen, for  ex., shadows of a mic or the camera, an unhidden cable, a person peeping to watch the shoot, continuity problems in match cutting movements, lights, props position, etc.

FINAL CUT… I am in that stage now. By tomorrow or Monday, I will be done in checking all sequences to the frame, more than 80 by now. It is already long for a feature film. But since I have to do the rest of my pre-prod work for my next Friday’s shoot, and a few days more are to be spent to shoot remnants and additional sequences [met Tikoy and Yuka this pm], I will say goodbye to Kingpin Asiong by Monday… So, it is a must now for Tikoy to sit with us by then to view it. As I have earlier said, it is not Tikoy’s practice to sit beside me while I am editing. And I find that really cool!!! Walang amuyong! For the simple reason that he is confident and is trusting my editing judgements, and that it is our SOP — to view and brainstorm together after final cutting is done so if there are still adjustments and/or corrections to be made, they must be done, before sending the Final Cut to the Sound Department..

Editing Asiong Salonga 2011 at Scenema Concept

Serious film making needs commitment, determination and dedication to make one’s participation in it quite fulfilling. As a film editor, I have worked that way ever since I started to get involved in this. And much more, when I started doing my own documentaries.

2 comments

  1. Ate Mirans,
    Ipagpatuloy mo ang pagsusulat ng film diary mo. Magiging film history siya. Mapapakinabangan din ng mga film student na katulad ko.
    El Rey


  2. Talaga?? May silbi pala ano? Sige…salamat. Ituloy mo rin ang maganda mong pagsusulat para sa El Presidente. Mukhang ganado ka!



Leave a comment