h1

What Sped Teachers Go Through in Alyana_Autism Film

August 14, 2011

It was raining heavily when I reached Quezon City last Thursday. I was heading for the Autism Society Philippines Office in Kamias – our meeting place, before proceeding to Metro Manila College (MMC) where Alyana’s showing was scheduled to be shown at 5.30 pm. My prayer must have been heard as the sun finally shone again after the heavy rains. But we were already late by the time Alyana was finally projected. Couldn’t explain what happened to the LCD projector of ASP. It was as if a yellow gel or filter has been used. All white colors turned yellow. Luckily, there was an immediate replacement.

Anyway, the buzzy students became quiet in the first part of the film, and many, especially those seated at the back row, as I have expected became busy buzzing again in the latter part of the film. Only probably the Education students required to watch the film were quiet and intently watching the film. What others do not realize is that losing their attention from the film means losing the information being shared to them by the interviewees. Oh well! There were serious viewers anyhow, and they in the end were sure winners I should say. It is because they have gained a lot from watching the film. Seeing the plight of sped teachers shown in the second part of the film definitely gave them an idea as to how it is to be a sped teacher. Their experiences and challenges were clearly delineated. I really salute sped teachers!!! I wish that sped teachers take their inspiration from Teacher Salvacion “Sally” Calabucal, one of the most inspiring teachers I have evet met. Incidentally, Agnes Dizon, my classmate in the study of Filipino Sign Language at CSB has already become a sped teacher. I am very happy for her. I used to go with her when she was applying for a job as a teacher. She attended the showing to watch Alyana again. She texted to tell me that once more the film made her cry. Iyakin naman kasi!!!

After the show, many students fielded questions to the guest speakers, Mrs. Carmel Almendrala, Founding Member of Autism Society Philippines and Dr.Cherry Amor Dizon, Sped teacher of New Era University. Che-che Villafuerte, my grandniece, Alyana’s cousin ably facilitated the event. Dr. Camua, MMC Dean of Education expressed her interest to have sped education introduced or be included in what they are offering right now. Hoping that it materializes… advocating for special people being my ‘mission’ for several years now.

I proceeded to Scenema ConceptĀ  after dinner where I continued to work on the editing of KINGPIN by Tikoy. I am targeting to finish editing the film this week.

Leave a Reply

