h1

Meeting with Cinematographer Romy Vitug

June 12, 2009

Next week, I’ll probably start with a small but important work of editing the footages shot by cinematographer FAMAS Hall of Famer Romy Vitug (“Insiang,” “Mga Bilanggong Birhen,” “Pagputi ng Uwak, Pagputi ng Tagak,” “Ang Alamat ni Julian Makabayan,” “Rizal sa Dapitan,” etc.) who called me up a couple of weeks back with a tone of urgency to ask if I can edit his footages on BenCab museum’s inauguration. He believed he said that I am the only one who can do it because I have an artist’s heart. A flattering statement indeed! Since I am still busy doing some non-film job and waiting for my next film project which I hope to come in this month to be able to raise funds for my film on the Cerebral Palsied, I have agreed to work on it meanwhile. I thought afterall that since he used only four tapes it won’t take me long to edit. [My docu films take years to finish because I normally use over 60 tapes, and over 100 with 2 camera setups]. Kuya Romy met me one stormy day at Metropoint Mall to give the DVD copies of his coverage for preview.

I do not know and haven’t yet met Benedicto “BenCab” Cabrera, National Artist for the Visual Arts but I know him through his works and always hear his name from Ms. Virginia Moreno, UP Film Center Founder when she talks about her artists-friends. The reason why when Kuya Romy talked about him, I couldn’t even picture how he looks like until I previewed his footages. I was happy however to know him better through those footages.  A cañao ritual was part of the coverage but it was most difficult for me to watch the killing of the pig as part of the ritual. Right now, I still don’t know how much of that scene would I be able to stand looking at to be able to edit in…quite a visual challenge for me who has difficulty watching “violent” scenes.

Anyhow after watching the beautiful shots of a very beautiful place with beautiful paintings and artifacts at BenCab Museum, the film structure shaped fast in my head. It’s “A Day in the Life of BenCab”—a very, very important and significant day for him.

Photo with Kuya Romy kuha sa UP Alumni Restaurant

Yesterday, Kuya Romy called up to inform me that BenCab has already agreed to have me edit the film. In reality, I have agreed to do it because of him—because of Romeo “Kuya Romy” Vitug, a long-time friend whom I have always look up to with awe and respect, a person I recognize as one of the best, if not the best cinematographer in the Philippines.

4 comments

  1. Hi! Good day!

    Ma’am, I’m Patricia Tolentino po from ABS-CBN and we are currently looking for Mr. Romy Vitug’s contact information, either email or number. Maybe you could help us po. We just need to ask permission from him since he is one of the resource persons of the documentary “Batas Militar” which ABS-CBN will air on February 25.

    Thank you po!


  2. Hi Patricia! May I know your email address? Kuya Romy may not want to have his number posted here…


  3. Hi, Ms. Mirana!

    I’m Iyra, and I hope you still remember me. I know we need a lot of catching up to do…it’s been 6 or 7 years since we last saw each other (during the book launching of Dr. Medina’s book and our planning session to build his library). I hope everything is well with you. My sister was also able to watch your Alyana documentary and if she’s asking if I knew you. She’s a SPED teacher po kasi.

    Anyway, I’ve come across again your blog as I was doing some google search on Mr. Romy Vitug. And then I found this article! I’m doing a research on Filipino photographers during Martial Law years. I wonder how to get in touch with him?

    My email address is still the same: iyra_buenrostro@yahoo.com

    I hope to hear from you and SEE you soon!

    Thanks so much!🙂


  4. Hi Iyra! How can i forget you? But i was rather surprised to be reminded that we met last some 6-7 years ago..parang kahapon lamang.. Anyway, will look for Kuya Romy’s number then will email it to you. Best regards to you, and your father as well!



Leave a Reply

