h1

Forget-Me-Not

March 20, 2011

I proceeded to Loyola Memorial Park to visit the tombs of my parents and brother. My instinct was that of asking for their blessings to be able to  successfully accomplish the project in connection with the Sesquicentennial Anniversary of Dr. Jose Rizal which I am targeting to shoot either next month or in May. I placed my folder file on my brother’s gravestone. I had always consulted him when he was alive whenever I had projects. Today was sort of my consultation with him.

Forget Me Not

In my file were copies of Rizal’s poems that we are going to use on March 26 [Deaf audition]. I chose to read the Filipino version of Flowers of Heidelberg, tried to imagine myself to be at the Neckar River with the flowers that Rizal wrote about. While I was reading it, I remembered Zaide’s mention in one of his books how fascinated Rizal was with the flowers there that included his favorite forget-me-not. When I finished reading, light blue flowers, a tomb away from my parent’s caught my attention.. The flower looks familiar but I wasn’t quite sure what its name was. Could that be the “forget-me-not” flowers? so I thought. I stood up to pick two flowers and a leaf and pressed them in my file, wondering what its name was. After sometime, the caretaker came and approached to greet me. I was happy to see her. I asked for the blue flower’s name at once. “Forget-me-not,” she said. I was delighted! I felt it was as if my brother had guided me to that flower. The caretaker then pointed to another tomb where she said more flowers abound. They [husband and wife team] happened to be the caretakers of both tombs. They were the ones who planted them.

I was so happy, I even became productive. Ideas on how I will start the film — which had kept me awake for two nighths until today—easily flowed. I managed to write the sequence draft to toss to Janus who said that she would still join us despite her hectic schedule at Kapatid Channel. Indeed, I’ll not forget those flowers ever again. I even brought home some cuttings so I can take a snapshot of it tomorrow to post here as well. The celfone shot is not that clear —hopefully, it didn’t dry and die yet.

Luckily, the flowers didnt dry, so heres the photo that I shot today, March 21.

I google searched and saw other “varieties” and lovely photos of forget-me-not…[please click forget-me-not-flower.html]…the variety that Rizal probably saw. Since I went to Bulacan Gardens to see, with the intention of buying forget-me-not, and the gardener showed me the same plant as the above photo, there was no mistake then that the “Philippine variety” differs from German or New Zealand varieties.

Trivia: [Source: infoflowersymbolism.htm#forgetmenot]

Forget-Me-Not Flower Symbolism / Legend

forget-me-not flower symbolismThe flower symbolism associated with the forget-me-not is true love and memories. In 15th century Germany, it was supposed that the wearers of the flower would not be forgotten by their lovers. In a medieval legend, a knight and his lady were walking along the side of a river. He picked a posy of flowers, but because of the weight of his armour he fell into the river. As he was drowning he threw the posy to his loved one and shouted “Forget-me-not”. It is also told in pious legend that the Christ child was sitting on Mary’s lap one day and said that he wished that future generations could see them. He touched her eyes and then waved his hand over the ground and blue forget-me-nots appeared.

Leave a comment